What ADHD diagnosis and treatment costs in Pune & PCMC | TruADHD
Guide

What ADHD diagnosis and treatment costs in Pune & PCMC

Real fee ranges for ADHD consultations, testing and follow-ups in Pune and PCMC. What each part costs and the questions that get straight answers.

Last reviewed: 6 Aug 2026

No single number exists

Let’s not pretend. There is no fixed price for “getting assessed for ADHD” in Pune, and any site quoting one exact figure is making it up. What does exist: fee ranges for each part of the process, and real numbers from practices that were willing to state them. That’s what this page gives you.

The four things you might pay for

People blow their budgets by treating these as one cost. They’re four.

1. The first consultation. The long appointment (45 to 90 minutes) with a psychiatrist, psychologist or developmental paediatrician. This varies the most. A premium clinic in Koregaon Park and a small practice in Pimpri can differ by three times for the same hour.

2. Testing, if you need it. A full psychometric battery with an RCI-registered psychologist takes hours plus report-writing time. It’s priced as a package, usually several times a single consultation. Not everyone needs it. Ask what question the testing answers before you agree.

3. Follow-ups. Cheaper per visit, but they repeat. On medication, expect reviews every few weeks at first. In therapy, sessions run weekly or fortnightly for months. This is where the real money goes.

4. Reports and letters. Paperwork for a school or employer is sometimes included, sometimes billed separately. One question on the phone settles it.

What providers actually told us

Every profile in our directory shows the consultation fee the practice itself disclosed, checked on the date shown. Where you see “Not disclosed”, they declined to say. We don’t fill that gap with a guess, because a made-up number is worse than no number.

From the disclosed data, two patterns hold up. First consultations cost more than follow-ups everywhere. And a psychologist’s single session is usually cheaper than a psychiatrist’s, but full testing flips that, because of the hours. Compare for yourself on the Pune psychiatrist and Pune psychologist pages. Fees sit right on the cards.

Five questions that get you a real quote

Say these on the phone. Practices answer direct questions far more readily than their websites suggest.

  1. “What does the first consultation cost, and how long is it?”
  2. “What do follow-ups cost, and how often will I need them at the start?”
  3. “If testing is recommended, what’s the total package price with the written report?”
  4. “Are school or work letters included, or extra?”
  5. “Do you do online follow-ups, and do they cost the same?”

A clinic that answers all five without squirming is telling you something good about itself.

Insurance, without the false hope

The Mental Healthcare Act, 2017 requires insurers to cover mental illness the way they cover physical illness. In practice, that has mostly reached hospitalisation. Routine outpatient care (consultations, testing, therapy) is still excluded from most Indian policies. Newer policies sometimes offer outpatient riders that help.

Do two things: read your policy’s outpatient psychiatric section before assuming anything, and ask the clinic for itemised bills anyway. If your cover improves later, you’ll want the paper trail.

If money is the constraint

For most families it is. Three levers actually work:

  • Book the professional whose output you need. Psychiatrist if medication is likely. Psychologist if you need a report or therapy. Don’t pay for both by default.
  • Move follow-ups online where offered. The fee is often the same but you stop paying in travel time and missed work.
  • Treat “Not disclosed” as a prompt, not a wall. Call and ask. Real numbers come out on the phone.

Frequently asked questions

Why do so many clinics refuse to quote ADHD assessment fees upfront?

Some can't, because the price depends on what the assessment turns out to need. Some just treat fees as a secret. Our directory shows the range wherever a practice told us one, and says 'Not disclosed' where they didn't. At least you know before you call.

Is ADHD treatment cheaper in PCMC than in central Pune?

Usually a bit, though the ranges overlap a lot. Also count travel. A clinic 15 minutes from home can cost less overall than a cheaper one across the city, once you add rickshaw fares and half-days off work every few weeks.

Does health insurance cover ADHD assessment or therapy in India?

For outpatient care, mostly no. The Mental Healthcare Act 2017 tells insurers to treat mental illness like physical illness, but in practice that has mainly reached hospitalisation cover. Consultations, testing and therapy usually come out of your pocket. Some newer policies have OPD riders, so check yours.

What's the single biggest hidden cost people miss?

Follow-ups. The diagnosis is a one-time cost. Care is recurring: medication reviews every few weeks at the start, or weekly therapy. Budget for the first three months, not the first appointment.

Sources & verification

Claims in this guide trace to the primary sources below. Spotted something out of date? Report a correction.

  1. TruADHD verified provider directory, disclosed fee data · TruADHD
  2. The Mental Healthcare Act, 2017 (India Code) · Government of India
  3. How TruADHD verifies providers · TruADHD